The Alberni Inlet is named after Don Pedro de Alberni, a captain in the Spanish Army. Alberni commanded a military outpost in Nootka Sound from 1790 to 1792. In 1860, a tall-masted schooner, the “Meg Merrilies” moored in the Alberni Inlet. The ship’s crew constructed the first saw mill in what was to become British Columbia.
The economic activity generated by the mill facilitated development of a local economy and an influx of European settlers. The first European settlers in the area were with the Anderson Company (a sawmilling company) from London, England in 1860. The original mill failed but several others were established in the 1880s. Port Alberni was incorporated in 1912.
(Above information shamelessly plagiarised from the internet).